Publish and be Dammed!!!*

Romantic-grunge-handwriting--Vector-Stock-Vector-writing-background-scrapbook

As I say I am a ‘wannabe writer’, I have  written fiction on and off for years… but nothing ever published.

I am far to scared  to do that… well that was until recently.  I sent my first piece of and yesterday I got the email back to say that it had been rejected.

-Scared-retro-woman-pop-art-Vector-illustration-Woman-polka-dots-and-speech-balloon-on-separate-layer-Stock-Vector

Was I upset… well not really, disappointed a little… but it has made me realise something about myself – the ‘old me’ would have said ‘that’s it’. given up and never put pen to paper again. That fear has been so strong – isn’t it in all of us?  But this last year or so has taught me I am stronger than I ever thought possible, that I don’t give up or give in..and that I can and will carry on in my every day life.. or writing fiction.

 

Writing like may other things in life is a craft, that need to be worked on, honed, and indeed challenged.   A little like ourselves, .  We need to keep working on ourselves, challenging ourselves, our behaviour our thoughts  etc. and more importantly not giving up.  I could get really philosophical here, but that is for another post…

craftsman

So  back to the writing business.  I am going to post some of my short stories here , on my very own blog… *laughs* – well it is a way of getting ‘published’. But the real reason is to put it out there…let it go, set it free and all that.  Some people may like it, some may not. Some readers may get it, some may not. But I won’t know unless I try.

And you know what writing gives me Joy, it gives me Space, it gives me Peace… and it gives me Pleasure. And its Life, it’s part of that wonderful weave and weft… the Wyrd… mine may be full of knots and  uneven, the colours may change, clash, run in to each other and at time break.  But I will just knot on and carry on… with whatever is at hand, with whatever this wonderful thing called life gives me…[gosh so many poor metaphors!]  But its mine, all mine…. mhwhahahahhahaha

scared

*coughs*.. well so what this all means is that as part of my life and my blogging  I am going to post some of my fiction..

 

  • All images stock or free images
  • *Arthur Wellesley, 1st Duke of Wellington
  • His_Grace_the_Duke_of_Wellington
About Wælcyrie

I'm a 50 plus [ how time flies] multifaceted, oxymoron, who can never really make her mind up. A Follow of the Hekate, a Wælcyrie who walks in the liminal spaces, between and betwix. a Medium, ( I'll talk to anyone dead or alive), a Writer of short stories, a disorganised Blogger, Cake Baker, Jam Maker; Mother Grandmother and Wife.
This entry was posted in Life, Short Story, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Publish and be Dammed!!!*

  1. J K Rowling had Harry Potter rejected twelve times before she found a publisher.

  2. lgould171784 says:

    I love that list of what writing gives you–Joy, Space, Peace, and Pleasure. I hope it will always be like that.

  3. bmkeeling says:

    Go for it Shullie! Also one rejection doesn’t mean anything. Some stories are shipped around loads of places before they find a home. The story might be taken up elsewhere, or be shortlisted in a comp. You don’t know unless you try!! I’ve had the same story get nowhere in a competition and then win the next one.😊

  4. Cymraes says:

    I love how you refer to the warp and weft of life, as I’m currently weaving myself…. and yes, you’re quite right – when one colour is done, another is added, and as it’s a Saori (no mistakes, just happy accidents 🙂 ) inspired work, there are added ‘flashes’ of inspiration too 🙂 just like your writings inspire others to take up the pen… or tap the keyboard *lol*

    In short – I needed to read this, to remind myself… of the Gyfu/gifts you give 🙂 x Diolch yn fawr! x

  5. aellia says:

    I love reading whatever you write. And you are certainly published here!

Please feel free to Leave a Reply

