Sirop de Tilleul or Lime Flower [Lindum] Cordial/syrup

**Okay this is a post I wrote last year – and while it is not yet  Lime [Lindum] Flower season – I thought I could pop it up here so that it’s ready for when they do come into flower **

 

This year has been very busy – family wise, so sadly, I have not got round to making much- my cupboards are bare!!!

empty cupboard

 

And sadly I have missed the Elderflower season [ will be picking berries though!]

elderflower

 

However, just after the elderflower comes the Lime flower or the Linden flowers.. and they smell divine. Again I have come to this a little late in the season, but there are still a lot of these flowers around and so

lime-flowers

I have never made this before, but after looking around the tinterwebt, I realised that the syrup was very much like elderflower syrup.. so I thought I would give it a go.

linden-tree-

Now collecting the flowers is easy, well it is if you are taller than I am.  I did manage to pick some from lower branches, though  I did have to go and get a stool to help me collect some from a little higher.

Be warned it is sticky, the bees love it.**  And like elderflower, it is best collected when warm and dry.

honey-bees-

**The local Honey- Norfolk Park Honey, is packed with pollen from the trees where I collect my flowers, and is great for Hay fever ! You can get it from Heely City Farm, which keeps Hives  close to the park**

beehive-vintage-bees-free-bees-bees-beehive-clipart-9ualdv-clipart

Also be aware that some people can have an allergic reaction to the flowers, and that they can cause a rash, and make you sneeze a lot!

Okay so the ingredients

I managed to collect approx 250-300 grams of lime flower clusters – shake them as you would elderflower to make sure you dont have any insects etc.. or if you prefer given them a quick wash in cold water…

  • 250-300grams is approximately a good bowlful of flowers or half a carrier bag.
  • Then I used approx 500g sugar – I used everyday sugar not granulated
  • 2 un-waxed lemons – or approx 5-10 grams of citric acid
  • 1 ltr of boiling water

 

Method

when you pick the flowers you will see that the grow in clusters, and that they have a pale green, paddle shaped bract attached.

Linden tree leaf and flower. Credit: Wendy Petty

Linden tree leaf and flower. Credit: Wendy Petty

  • Now some recipes say remove this and other say that you can keep this paddle shaped bradle leaf.. I removed it this time.
  • Then place the flowers into a large enough bowel that you will be able to pour over the boiling water.
  • Cover with a cloth – a tea towel will do and leave for at least 8 hrs.  I left it overnight.
  • The following day strain the liquid using a jam strainer or a piece of muslin cloth.
  • Don’t be tempted to squeeze it , as it will make the liquid cloudy,  ** like the rose petals in the rose petal jam  recipe.**
  • I left it to strain  for most of the day.
  • Then when you think you have all the liquid, pop it in a pan and add the sugar and the juice some of the rind of  2 lemons.  you can add more if you want a more lemony taste.  ** If you dont want to use lemons you can use citric acid which you get from your local supermarket **
  • Bring it to the boil stirring all the time, until the sugar has dissolved, then boil for 5 – 10 minutes.
  • Taste and add more lemon juice or citric acid if desired.

I then bottled it into 6 small Kilner bottles, or  a 1lb jam jar

It is runny as it is a syrup.  I did wonder if I carried on boiling if it would thicken more and become more like a jam.  However I dont think that there is enough pectin in it

It is great, so I am told with ice cream and apparently with Prosecco Champagne [and/or other fizzy wine /drink- I had it with Gin and a splash of lemonade ]

I am going to try it later win a gin and tonic, and will let you know how I get on.  ** I did try it and it was rather wonderful… it does have a distinct taste though**

**Just a note to say that it last fine for approx 1 month in the fridge, but when bottles using the hot water bath method  and in sealed jars , keep out the way, in a cool dark place it is meant to last much longer. **

Also you if you dont fancy  making syrup you can add the flowers to alcohol such as gin and /or vodka , add some sugar as you would with sloe  and turn every month. keep in a dark place for  3 months or more…  strain before uses.

It can also be added to Honey, and left to infuse for a while.

It is also great as a tea.. either with the fresh flowers, or dried flowers… and is great for colds ** it makes you sweat it out**, and also for sleeping. In many European countries including France and Germany, it is recognised and used to aid a number of health  issues, including lowing blood pressure, anxiety and digestion. However, I would , as always recommend that if you wish to use it for specific health issues that you speak to a qualified herbalist and also check with your GP if you are on other medication.

10346324-Linden-tea-with-fresh-linden-flowers-on-a-white-background-Stock-Photo

 

*All images my own, or free/stock images  – those which are not have been duly credited *

** © Shullie H Porter 2015-2016**

About Keeper of the Keys

I'm a 50 plus [ how time flies] multifaceted, oxymoron, who can never really make her mind up. A Witch, a Follow of the Goddess, a Medium, ( I'll talk to anyone dead or alive), a 'wanna be' Writer, a disorganised Blogger, Cake Baker, Jam Maker, Trainee Patchwork-er and Keeper of the Keys for The Under Gardener's Lodge. Mother Grandmother and Wife. I'm fascinated and excited by many things, and therefore could be called eclectic or even eccentric, though some have not been that polite. I live in this Beautiful Magical Lodge with my husband Lou, our rather large dog, Shea and a few other previous residents, who come and go. And like many women of a certain age - I like purple [ and some how pink!] rather a lot!
This entry was posted in Food, Life, Lodge, Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to Leave a Reply

