The Morning after the Night Before …

The Morning after the Resurection 1886 -Sir Edward Coley Burne-Jones,

The Thunder, Perfect Mind

 

For I am the first and the last.

I am the honoured one and the scorned one.

I am the whore and the holy one.

I am the wife and the virgin.

I am <the mother> and the daughter.

I am the members of my mother.

I am the barren one and many are her sons.

I am she whose wedding is great,and I have not taken a husband.

I am the midwife and she who does not bear.

I am the solace of my labour pains.

I am the bride and the bridegroom,and it is my husband who begot me.

I am the mother of my father and the sister of my husband and he is my offspring.

I am the slave of him who prepared me.

I am the ruler of my offspring.But he is the one who begot me before the time on a birthday.And he is my offspring in (due) time,and my power is from him.

I am the staff of his power in his youth,and he is the rod of my old age.And whatever he wills happens to me.

I am the silence that is incomprehensible and the idea whose remembrance is frequent.

I am the voice whose sound is manifold and the word whose appearance is multiple.

I am the utterance of my name.
Why, you who hate me, do you love me,and hate those who love me?  You who deny me, confess me,and you who confess me, deny me. You who tell the truth about me, lie about me,and you who have lied about me, tell the truth about me.  You who know me, be ignorant of me,and those who have not known me, let them know me.

For I am knowledge and ignorance.

I am shame and boldness.

I am shameless;

I am ashamed.

I am strength and I am fear.

I am war and peace.

Give heed to me.

I am the one who is disgraced and the great one.Give heed to my poverty and my wealth. Do not be arrogant to me when I am cast out upon the earth,and you will find me in those that are to come.

And do not look upon me on the dung-heapnor go and leave me cast out, and you will find me in the kingdoms.

And do not look upon me when I am cast out among those who are disgraced and in the least places,nor laugh at me.

And do not cast me out among those who are slain in violence.

But I,

I am compassionate and I am cruel.

Mary Magdalene Richard Stodart

 

About Wælcyrie

I'm a 50 plus [ how time flies] multifaceted, oxymoron, who can never really make her mind up. A Follow of the Hekate, a Wælcyrie who walks in the liminal spaces, between and betwix. a Medium, ( I'll talk to anyone dead or alive), a Writer of short stories, a disorganised Blogger, Cake Baker, Jam Maker; Mother Grandmother and Wife.
This entry was posted in Life, Literature, Love, magic, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to Leave a Reply

