‘ And I sold her and took my fee. . . ‘

1216playboy_article

My Madonna

I haled me a woman from the street,
   Shameless, but, oh, so fair!
I bade her sit in the model’s seat
   And I painted her sitting there.
I hid all trace of her heart unclean;
   I painted a babe at her breast;
I painted her as she might have been
   If the Worst had been the Best.
She laughed at my picture and went away.
   Then came, with a knowing nod,
A connoisseur, and I heard him say;
   “’Tis Mary, the Mother of God.”
So I painted a halo round her hair,
   And I sold her and took my fee,
And she hangs in the church of Saint Hillaire,
   Where you and all may see.
binky brown meets the Virgin Mary comic book 1972
I have a ‘thing’ about the Virgin Mary and how subversive she can be in the right hands.
Indeed I have a whole thesis built upon  the image of this untouchable, unobtainable and idealised woman. How these images and ideas were and used to keep women in a subservient place in what was and still is, to some extent, an andocentric society.
So every so often I have an urge to try and show how they were and can be subverted and somewhat reclaimed.
About Wælcyrie

I'm a 50 plus [ how time flies] multifaceted, oxymoron, who can never really make her mind up. A Follow of the Hekate, a Wælcyrie who walks in the liminal spaces, between and betwix. a Medium, ( I'll talk to anyone dead or alive), a Writer of short stories, a disorganised Blogger, Cake Baker, Jam Maker; Mother Grandmother and Wife.
This entry was posted in Life, Literature, Poetry, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘ And I sold her and took my fee. . . ‘

  1. Pingback: ‘ And I sold her and took my fee. . . ‘ | Tales From The Under Gardener's Lodge

  2. I remember a friend who lives in Ireland saying that a lot of men there saw women as either The Virgin or The Whore. I suspect this exists in The British Isles but is just more underground; we have a culture of not saying certain things in public which just mean that people think them instead

Please feel free to Leave a Reply

