Psssst – I have a confession – I have been unfaithful and I have started another Blog

Well I have actually had it a long time, it’s been somewhat hidden behind closed doors –  but  I feel the need to perhaps do more with it.

Image

It’s called Saccharine Madonnas – and it’s about my fascination with the image – traditional and culturally,  of the Virgin Mary- Art, Film,  Statues etc… and what I think they say to us, as a society, as women, 

I also want to use it to look at these images and to discuss how Mary can be seen to represent The Hidden Goddess,[c] that is within her image we can see aspects of pre Christian Goddess, who has been placed there for many reason.

  1. in order to destroy Her,
  2. to make people forget Her
  3. to offer those who followed such a Goddess, a more idealised Christian version of her. 

The other by Her followers in order to hide Her, in order to continue to worship Her safely through out the millennium.

Though those reason maybe have forgotten, Her mythos hidden under layers of Christianised ideals, and incorporated into the Christian ideal of the Ideal Woman.

I want to pick off the paint, strip her image back if I can to see what I can find – to subvert  the subdued and see what She has to say for Her self, and to what, if anything.  that can say or offer us [me!].

By *Her* of course I am talking about many different Goddess, from different areas of the world, from different traditions and and of course many different aspects, though I do have a thing for Ἑκάτη [Hekate], and will also be looking particularly aspects of her in these images and epitaphs

It is something I have been fascinated by for many years and which I now feel a real need to write about- in one way of another. It would be great if some of you fancy popping across, but of course if its not your thing please don’t worry. 

Hence why I have made it a different blog!

Image[Shhhhhhh I also have another blog- called 50/50 is not on WordPress and I have not used it for a while  – but it is full off pretty pictures if you want to go look see ]

About Wælcyrie

I'm a 50 plus [ how time flies] multifaceted, oxymoron, who can never really make her mind up. A Follow of the Hekate, a Wælcyrie who walks in the liminal spaces, between and betwix. a Medium, ( I'll talk to anyone dead or alive), a Writer of short stories, a disorganised Blogger, Cake Baker, Jam Maker; Mother Grandmother and Wife.
This entry was posted in Ekate, History, Life, Literature, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to Leave a Reply

