Of Nature’s calm observances begun, Still to be here the idle autumn day. *

The Autumn seems to have come much faster than expected.   


We have managed to move into the Lodge,  and most of the rooms have been decorated,

The lounge  is looking better , thous we still have pictures to get up, and I am desperately looking for a dark green door curtain- or some fabric to make one.  

Sorry the pictures are not good, – the other residents here made themselves known.

At present, due to lack of work for OH, we have as yet only been able to afford to get the lounge and the Stairs carpeted. 

We finally ran out of money!

But we are very happy with what we have now

The bedrooms are not there yet, so you will have to wait for until they are – have a chest of draws I want strip and looking for some furniture for ours- well a wardrobe- but a Juliet one as the beams make anything else not viable.. and it has to be small enough to get up the stairs….  I don’t think the Victorians or Edwardian’s did flat pack!

The bathroom is still just the bathroom, – we didn’t manage to get that decorated.. but at the present time it’s clean and looks okay.  I am on the look out, as always for a small unit to go in there.   It will come when the time is right!   And after dusting down the sewing machine, I have decided to make the curtains for there from my son’s old blue and white stripy bedroom ones.  he won’t mind I’m sure – fingers crossed.   As soon as that is done I am sure I will show you- well that;s saying I mange to do make them okay- has been a long time since I was a sewing demon.. but they say it’s like riding a bike- and I can do that too!

The kitchen is becoming the heart of the house, as it should. I seem to spend a lot of my time there, we both do.  We did look at getting a new cooker, and MIL offered to help us.  But we could not find anything we wanted, and what we did like would mean asking if we could change the kitchen around, and we can’t do that as yet… maybe one day, if we can persuade them to let us put in a more sympathetic kitchen.  I have manged to get some wonderful curtains, blue,  I love a blue curtains in kitchen…

My broom has found a corner next to the door…


and visitors seem too love to sit on the window seat.

I have a new addition too – A German Kitchen Witch, found on a stall at The Sheffield Fayre – just waiting, I like to think, to come home

Plus she has long blonde hair *wink*

I have to admit I spend a lot of time say in the porch, reading and drink tea, saying hello to those who use the park, who come and go. 

I love to spend time there just sitting, watching squirrels, and listing to the birds, while I drink my morning tea , it prepares me for the day to come.

Though I am not the only one who loves to just sit there and  take a moment .

*In The Garden VII: Early Autumn

IF while I sit flatter’d by this warm sun
Death came to me, and kiss’d my mouth and brow,
And eyelids which the warm light hovers through,
I should not count it strange. Being half won
By hours that with a tender sadness run,
Who would not softly lean to lips which woo
In the Earth’s grave speech? Nor could it aught undo
Of Nature’s calm observances begun
Still to be here the idle autumn day.
Pale leaves would circle down, and lie unstirr’d
Where’er they fell; the tir’d wind hither call
Her gentle fellows; shining beetles stray
Up their green courts; and only yon shy bird
A little bolder grow ere evenfall.

Edward Dowden 2004

©2011 Shullie H Porter.  All Rights Reserved.*

About Keeper of the Keys

I'm a 50 plus [ how time flies] multifaceted, oxymoron, who can never really make her mind up. A Witch, a Follow of the Goddess, a Medium, ( I'll talk to anyone dead or alive), a 'wanna be' Writer, a disorganised Blogger, Cake Baker, Jam Maker, Trainee Patchwork-er and Keeper of the Keys for The Under Gardener's Lodge. Mother Grandmother and Wife. I'm fascinated and excited by many things, and therefore could be called eclectic or even eccentric, though some have not been that polite. I live in this Beautiful Magical Lodge with my husband Lou, our rather large dog, Shea and a few other previous residents, who come and go. And like many women of a certain age - I like purple [ and some how pink!] rather a lot!
This entry was posted in Decorating, Life, Lodge, Seasons, Update and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to Leave a Reply

