Open Doors and New Beginings

So we got the Keys, a big bunch, for the Doors and the Gates…

Big Big Gates.

I signed my soul over to the landlord – I  have the bit of paper to prove it.

Never has a deal with since Paganini been so sweet

No they didn’t ask for it in Blood…. just a Biro

Black was sufficient!

So once we had the Keys and had Signed on the Dotted Line, then came the Clean Up

The House felt Cold and Lonely

 Although the previous tenant was supposed to have lived her, we don’t think he had.

Well not for some time.

The House felt that it had been abandoned – Again

More on That on a Later Post

Here are lots of photos to show you what I mean…

No waxing lyrical for a while… but just lots of pictures!

The Living Room

(I had cleaned it and put up nets to stop people looking in )

The Back Door

Well the Front Door really, but it’s not the one we tend to use

Fireplace

Going up the Higglydipiggldy stairs

Looking up the stairs

Round the Corner and the Wonderful Arched Window 

Looking down – can you see what I see I wonder?

The Smaller of the Two Bedrooms

Someone had tried to paint the window wall blue but gave up half way across the wall

And those Curtains… I wanted to keep them  but OH said No No NO !

Shabby chic to the nth – I guess he doesn’t have any taste!

And if you look closely you can see that there is a hole in the floor in the corner

We had some issues with damp on the beams

And in the corner

The Main Bedroom

This is a big room and again as you can see there appears to be a lot of damp

 Yet the rooms did not smell damp

There were cobwebs everywhere….

Which also made us feel that no one have been living there for a long time.

There is also, as you would imagine, a Bathroom, which was once a Bedroom.

Sorry to say that the only image I have is the toilet.

Don’t ask me why

Though we haven’t actually decorated in there as yet… just cleaned it.

back down the stairs and for a glance out of the arched window

You can see the garden and the car park from here.

And of course we now have a Dinning Room…

Though I can’t find another picture of it….:(

but it’s big enough for a 6 seated table,

And it has a fireplace and fire…not real fire sadly…. but looks okay

You will have to wait till I take some more… as although it decorated it’s not ‘done’ as such

And back through the Lounge and into the Kitchen

As you can see it needs some work.

The cupboards are okay, not the greatest and not my choice, but as it’s a rented property, we have to leave them in.

However,  next year when we have the money, we plan to replace the doors, with a more Quaker style door.

And the beautiful Window Seat that I love.

I spend hours sat there, as do my kids when they visit

I’m hoping to make some cushions for it – Patchwork!!!!

Don’t worry I will tell you all about it- painfully… bit by bit…

And once last look out of the Arch door to the Porch and the Parkland

I’ll leave it there for now…. but I hope you have enjoyed our little tour.

Next time you come visit, I will tell you more about the Other Residents, whom made themselves known when we started the work here.

©2011 Shullie H Porter.  All Rights Reserved.*

About Wælcyrie

I'm a 50 plus [ how time flies] multifaceted, oxymoron, who can never really make her mind up. A Follow of the Hekate, a Wælcyrie who walks in the liminal spaces, between and betwix. a Medium, ( I'll talk to anyone dead or alive), a Writer of short stories, a disorganised Blogger, Cake Baker, Jam Maker; Mother Grandmother and Wife.
This entry was posted in Decorating, Lodge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Open Doors and New Beginings

  1. Don’t ask why it’s taken me so long to get here but here I am… must have been away with those Irish Imps for far too long!

    Just catching up BTW ;p

  2. Lorraine says:

    I love the way the story is unfolding. The pictures are great and I look forward to seeing more as you go on. I would have kept the curtains too 😉

  3. sennga says:

    Who is the visitor on the stairs who seemingly posed for the photo op? 😉

Please feel free to Leave a Reply

